Total: £0.00


Log In

Twitter YouTube   

Chief Officers 3rd Sector 2015 Leadership Awards Nominees Announced

Chief Officers 3rd Sector (CO3) is delighted to announce the nominations of its Leadership Awards 2015. Judged by independent experts, the coveted CO3 Leadership awards reward the passion and successes of Third Sector Chief Officers in Northern Ireland through eight categories, including Best Newcomer, Leading on Political Impact and Entrepreneurial Leader of the Year. The names of the winners will be unveiled at CO3’s flagship award gala dinner where 200 guests are expected on 19 February 2015 at the Slieve Donard Hotel, in Newcastle, Co. Down.

Nora Smith, Chief Executive, CO3, said: “Third Sector leaders work quietly, intensively and achieve life-changing results for their service users with minimal financial means, compensating with true dedication to their mission.
“For Third Sector leaders, this is the moment when society is facing the most sustained economic crisis in living memory, worsened by political uncertainty, intensifying budget cuts and welfare changes pushing the most vulnerable into poverty.
“Nominated by their staff, Board, peers and service users, the nominees’ talent and passion are acknowledged by an important quality mark in leadership excellence.”

Nominated for the Leading on Political Impact Award, Sarah Quinlan is CEO of the Children’s Heartbeat Trust, a Northern Ireland-wide charity supporting children with congenital heart disease. Through the imaginative ‘Hands Up for Heart Surgery’ campaign under Sarah’s leadership, the Children’s Heartbeat Trust successfully lobbied to stop children’s heart surgery services being moved to England and instead to be managed through a Belfast-Dublin network arrangement. On learning of her nomination, she said: “I am delighted to have been nominated for this award and it is all the sweeter since I had no idea I was in the race."
“It is very special to be a contender for this prestigious CO3 Award and so gratifying to be acknowledged for achieving, as a team and with the support of the wider society and the media, the retention of children’s heart surgery services on the island of Ireland.
“I am very proud of this nomination and look forward to the Awards ceremony to meet my fellow nominees and celebrate the winner.”    

Shining through a large selection of outstanding applications, the nominees are:

Overall Inspiring Leader of the Year
• Alan Thomson, The Orchardville Society
• Marie Marin, Employers For Childcare Charitable Group
• Judith Hill, Northern Ireland Hospice

Lifetime Commitment to the Third Sector
• Alan Thomson, The Orchardville Society
• Billy Kohner, Action Mental Health
• Judith Hill, Northern Ireland Hospice
• Sandara Kelso-Robb, Lloyds Bank Foundation for Northern Ireland

Best Newcomer of the Year
• Pam Hunter, Nexus NI
• Alison McNulty, Tiny Life
• Siobhan Doherty, Aware Defeat Depression
• Linda Robinson, Age NI

Investing in Leadership Development Champion
• Olwen Lyner, NIACRO
• Ann Cooney, Southern Area Hospice Services
• Jenny Irvine, ARC Healthy Living Centre

Chairperson of the Year
• Eileen Mullan, Audiences NI & Age NI
• Ken Brundle, Praxis Care

Entrepreneurial Leader of the Year
• Eric Randall, Bryson Recycling
• Marie Marin, Employers For Childcare Charitable Group

Leading on Political Impact
• Olwen Lyner, NIACRO
• Mairaid McMahon, Employers For Childcare Charitable Group
• Sarah Quinlan, Children’s Heartbeat Trust

Partnership Award – Working Collaboratively Together
• Heather Monteverde MBE & Mary Jo Thompson, Macmillan Cancer Support & NI Cancer Network
• Peter Shields & Kieran Molloy, Action Mental Health & Cedar Foundation