Total: £0.00


Log In

Twitter YouTube   

CO3 Announce 2019 Leadership Awards Shortlist

CO3 Announce 2019 Leadership Awards Shortlist

We are proud to announce the shortlist for the CO3 Leadership Awards 2019.

It’s been another record breaking year for entries to the CO3 Leadership Awards with nominations being whittled down from a longlist by our Judging Panel who met to deliberate and score entries on 7 December 2018.  Many thanks to our Judging Panel who did a fantastic and difficult job of selecting the 50 finalists. 
Thank you also to everybody who took the time to submit an application, we received an array of nominations from leaders of very large to small organisations, vying for a place on the 2019 Leadership Awards shortlist.  We truly appreciate the time and energy that has gone to completing an application.  The sheer volume of the applications received, is a strong indication of the interest and growth of the CO3 Awards. Thank you all for taking the time and effort to complete.

Cue the drum roll, the full shortlist of nominees is now listed on our below.

The names of the overall category winners will be unveiled at CO3’s flagship award gala dinner where over 400 guests will attend on 7 March 2019 at La Mon Hotel & Country Club, Castlereagh, Belfast.  Tickets are selling quickly so make sure to buy your ticket today by visiting the CO3 website here.  We sincerely you will join us in what is a truly special night honouring and celebrating leadership in the Third Sector.


Standing out through a large selection of outstanding applications, the nominees are:


Inspiring Leader of the Year
sponsored by Ecclesiastical Insurance

Gareth Kirk, Action Cancer
Richard May, Ardmonagh Family & Community Group
Charlie Mack, Extern
John O'Doherty, Rainbow Project
Alison McCullough MBE, Royal College of Speech and Language Therapist
Barry Macaulay, Stroke Association

Leading People
sponsored by Worthingtons Solicitors

Audrey Allen, Action Mental Health
Richard May, Ardmonagh Family & Community Group
Charlie Mack, Extern


Social Innovation
Sara McCracken, Angel Eyes
Isobel Loughran, Footprints Women’s Centre
Dee Nixon, Hope 4Life NI
Mimi Turtle, Strand Arts Centre

Trustee of the Year
sponsored by Premier Wealth Management

Debbie Donnelly, Ark Housing Association
Gordon Gough, Brain Injury Matters
John McErlane, Dementia NI
Sr Nuala Kelly, Depaul
Kate Fleck, Open College Network
Alan Ledlie, Start360

Social Entrepreneurial Leader
sponsored by Department for Communities

Eric Randal, Bryson Recycling
Nigel Hampton, IncredABLE
Dave Linton, Madlug
Billy Millar, Raglan Community Development and Renovation Society
Mimi Turtle, Strand Arts Centre

Best Newcomer
sponsored by OCN NI

Tina McCrossan, Adoption Routes
Kerry Boyd, Autism NI
Darren McKinney, Habinteg (Ulster) Housing Association
Brenda McMullan, Halifax Foundation for NI
Deborah Burns, Northern Ireland Hospice
Colin Jess, Social Enterprise NI

Leading Forward in Transformation across Health & Social Care
sponsored by Department of Health

Geraldine Kerr, Action Cancer
Linda Robinson, Age NI
Deirdre McCloskey, Mid & East Antrim Agewell Partnership
Heather Weir, Northern Ireland Hospice
Charlene Brooks, Parenting NI

Leading Organisation Change Award
sponsored by Baker Tilly Mooney Moore

Gareth Kirk, Action Cancer
Adele Doherty, Alzheimer's Society
Mark Graham, Co-Ownership Housing
Lynn Carvill, Women's Tec

One to Watch
Gayle Martin, Connswater Homes
Mairead McGinn, Depaul
Emma Purdon, Extern
Laura Slevin, Flex Language Services
Kyleigh Lough, Mae Murray Foundation
Ursula Ferguson, Stroke Association

Leading a Smaller Organisation
sponsored by Halifax Foundation for NI

Julianne Skillen, Community Arts Partnership
Kirsten Kearney, ESC Films
Janine Smalls, iCare Charity
Deirdre McCloskey, Mid & East Antrim Agewell Partnership
Chris Ledger, University of Atypical